Sunday , 5 June 2016
Breaking News
Winners of the 2016 African Banker Awards

Winners of the 2016 African Banker Awards

Winners of the 2016 African Banker Awards have been announced in Lusaka, Zambia.  For the first time, two
Cameroonians feature among the laureates, with Alamine Ousmane Mey winning the Minister of Finance
category, and leading banker Paul Fokam awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. 
Cameroon scored a hat trick as Lazard's credit enhanced currency swap won the award
for Deal of the Year - Debt.
The awards, held annually on the fringes of the Annual Meetings of the African
Bank, celebrate excellence in banking and finance on the African continent. This
 year marks the 10th anniversary of the Awards and the 2016 winners were selected
from over 200 entries from across the continent.
Please see full list of winners in each category below.
Since their inception ten years ago, the African Banker Awards have become the
ceremony recognising excellence in African banking. Two of the most interesting 
categories include the Lifetime Achievement Award which was given this year to
Paul Fokam, President of the Afriland First Group. Fokam is a serial entrepreneur,
a renowned economist and his bank is one of the more important institutions in Central
Daniel Matjila, CEO of South Africa's Public Investment Corporation, a fund with
 $139bn funds under management was awarded the African Banker Icon, recognising 
the significant investments by the fund into African corporations and the lead role
he has played in driving investment from South Africa into the continent.
The prestigious accolade for Banker of the Year went to GTBank's Managing Director/CEO,
Segun Agbaje for his leadership of the Nigerian banking giant, one of Africa's most
profitable banks.
Morocco's Attijariwafa Bank, which is active in 20 countries, won the 2016 Bank 
of the Year award. Meanwhile, the 2016 the award for Africa's Best Minister of Finance
was bestowed on Cameroon's Alamine Ousmane Mey, for his contribution to socioeconomic
development in his country. The African Central Bank Governor of the Year accolade
was given to Kenya's Patrick Njoroge. Kenya's central bank, largely unknown a year
ago, has managed to navigate a tough economic climate and Patrick has been credited
with cleaning up the banking sector in his country.

Speaking at the exclusive Gala Dinner at the Intercontinental Hotel attended by 
over 400 financiers, business leaders, and influential personalities and policy 
makers, Omar Ben Yedder, Group Publisher of African Banker magazine, which hosts
 the awards in partnership with BusinessInAfricaEvents noted: "It has definitely
 been a defining decade in banking in Africa. 

We have recognised true leaders tonight
who are playing a critical role in the socio-economic development of the continent.
Finance remains a key component of development, be it in terms of financing massive
infrastructure projects that today are being wholly financed by consortia of African
banks, or SME financing.  It's happening because of strong, bold and visionary
I have been privileged to honour some truly exceptional individuals who have left
an indelible mark on the industry over the years. We are very grateful to our High
Patron, the AfDB, for their unwavering support in this initiative and our thanks
 also go to our sponsors: MasterCard, Ecobank, Nedbank, African Guarantee Fund, 
PTA Bank, CRDB Bank, Arton Capital and Qatar Airways for partnering with us and 
enabling us to reward outstanding achievements, commend best practices and celebrate
excellence in African banking".
This year's judging panel was made up of Koosum Kalyan, Chairman of  EdgoMerap Pty
Ltd; Zemedeneh Negatu,Managing Partner of Ernst & Young Ethiopia; Tom Minney, Chief
Executive of African Growth Partners; Alain le Noir, CEO of  Finances Sans Frontières;
Christopher Hartland-Peel, Principal at Hartland-Peel Africa Equity Research and
 Kanika Saigal, Deputy Editor of African Banker Magazine.
Bank of the Year
Attijariwafa Bank (Morocco)
Banker of the Year
Segun Agbaje - GTBank (Nigeria)
Minister of Finance of the Year
Alamine Ousmane Mey (Cameroon)
Central Bank Governor of the Year
Patrick Njoroge (Kenya)
African Banker Icon
Daniel Matjila, CEO PIC (South Africa)
Lifetime Achievement Award
Paul Fokam, Founder Afriland First Bank (Cameroon)
Investment Bank of the Year
Rand Merchant Bank (South Africa)
Award for Financial Inclusion
Ecobank (Togo)
Best Retail Bank
BCI (Mozambique)
Socially Responsible Bank of the Year
Commercial International Bank (Egypt)
Innovation in Banking
Guaranty Trust Bank (Nigeria)
Deal of the Year - Equity
Naspers $2.5bn Accelerated Equity Offering (Citi)
Deal of the Year - Debt
Cameroon's Currency Swap (Lazard)
Infrastructure Deal of the Year
Azura - Edo IPP (Fieldstone; Rand Merchant Bank; Standard Bank; IFC)
Best Regional Bank in North Africa
Commercial International Bank (Egypt)
Best Regional Bank in West Africa
Banque Atlantique (Côte d'Ivoire)
Best Regional Bank in Central Africa
BGFI (Gabon)
Best Regional Bank in East Africa
CRDB Bank (Tanzania)
Best Regional Bank in Southern Africa
MCB (Mauritius)
You may like this  Merck Unites with UNESCO to Build Research Capacity in Africa